Multidisciplinary/General ResearchArts, Music, & FilmAutomotiveBiographiesBiologyBusinessComputer Science & Information TechnologyConference Papers & ProceedingsCurrent Events & Controversial TopicsDictionaries & EncyclopediasEducationEnglish & LiteratureEngineering & Materials ScienceForeign LanguageGeography, Earth & Environmental ScienceHealth, Medicine & NursingHistoryLaw, Politics & GovernmentNewspapersPhilosophy & ReligionPsychology & Social SciencesScience (General) & Math
ABCDE
FGHIJL
MNOPR
STUVWY
Feedback on Databases
This is the "Databases by Subject" page of the "Thomas Nelson Library Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Thomas Nelson Library Databases  

To search databases, you can use the complete A-Z annotated list of databases, search databases by subject, or try a general database.
Last Updated: Jul 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tncc.edu/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases by Subject Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Not Sure Where to Start?

We've divided our databases into subject areas. You can also find a database by its title using A-Z tabs above.

If you're not sure where to start, try one of these general databases, take a look at a Research Guide on your subject, or Ask a Librarian!

 

What is a Library Database?

What is a library database?

A library database is an online resource that the library subscribes to that contains articles and information from print sources such as magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books. 

Most of our databases are article databases. 

An article database enables you to search through thousands (sometimes millions) of different magazines, journals and newspapers to find articles on a particular topic. Some of the articles you will find are Full Text, which means you can read (or print out) the entire article right there online. Other times the database will only provide you with an abstract, or summary of the article. Other times, the database will only give you a citation, which tells you where you can find a print version of the article.

Databases are not "internet" sources

Although you access our databases from the internet, the articles you find in them are reprinted from real live print sources. Most of the things you find in our database cannot be found by searching Google or Wikipedia. These are subscription services that the library pays for. They are every bit a part of our library's collection as the books on our shelf, and unless you want to buy your own subscription, you must go through the library's website to access them.

 

Off-Campus Access

TNCC Library's online resources are accessible to currently enrolled TNCC students and faculty and staff of TNCC. 

To access these resources from off-campus, you'll be required to login with your VCCS username and password.

Learn more about accessing TNCC library databases from off-campus.

 

Ask A Librarian

Thomas Nelson Librarians offline?  Try LRCLive, our 24/7 chat reference service for Virginia’s community college students.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip