The purpose of this subject guide is to direct TNCC students to resources concerning currents events in various facets of society.
Last Updated: Sep 25, 2013
The library subscribes to newspapers from Virginia, and throughout the United States.
- Daily Press
- New York Times
- USA Today
- Virginia Gazette (bi-weekly)
- Virginian Pilot
- Wall Street Journal
- Christian Science Monitor
- Muslim Journal (Weekly)
- New Journal and Guide (weekly)
- Common Dreams News Center
"Breaking news & views for the progressive community."
- Consortium for Independent Journalism
This alternative news service tackles political stories ignored by the mainstream media.
A service of the American Press Institute Media Center - includes blogs from "embedded" journalists, news sites' complete coverage pages, interactive graphics & stories, and audio reports from the field.
- Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
"FAIR, the national media watch group, offers well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship. We work to invigorate the First Amendment by advocating for greater diversity in the press and by scrutinizing media practices that marginalize public interest, minority and dissenting viewpoints."
- i watch news
from the Center for Public Integrity - This nonpartisan organization aims to "provide the American people with the findings of our investigations and analyses of public service, government accountability and ethics related issues."
- Institute for Public Accuracy
Independent sources for breaking news.
The yearly roundup of important stories ignored by mainstream media.
ProPublica is an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest. Our work focuses exclusively on truly important stories, stories with “moral force.”
"Public Interest Reporting on the PR/Public Affairs Industry," from the Center for Media and Democracy Includes the "Spin of the Day", with archives, and the "Disinfopedia" ("the encyclopedia of propaganda"), which offers case studies on deceptive PR campaigns, info on how to research front groups, and more
- The Revealer: a Daily Review of Religion and the Press
From by the New York University Department of Journalism and New York University's Center for Religion and Media , who aim "to develop and broaden scholarship, pedagogy, and public knowledge of religion and media, in all their forms." Includes articles, an archive, discussions, and links to the religious media and media about religion.
- Watching America
"Discover what the world thinks about the US" with "Translated Foreign News Available Nowhere else In English." Includes text, videos, and other media from Europe, Africa, Asia, and the Americas.
- World Press Review
World News from World Newspapers. Most Americans don't understand how different the world -- and America -- looks to people in other nations. This sampling of current and archived news stories from around the world does much to correct that.
Current events include topics such as local, national and world politics, arts and entertainment, education, medicine, science and the economy. Information about these events can be found in a variety of sources such as newspapers, magazines and websites.
TNCC Reference Librarians are ready to help you with your research needs! Contact the Reference Department at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 757-825-2877 for assistance.