Skip to main content

Faculty Services

What can the Library do for you? A guide to the Library's services and resources for faculty..

Information Literacy Library Instruction

Librarians collaborate closely with discipline faculty in order to tailor each session to a specific assignment.  In a 75 minute class session, librarians focus on 2 of the following learning outcomes.

Outcome One: Students will be able to contrast popular and scholarly periodicals in order to select the source type(s) most appropriate for a specific assignment.

Outcome Two: Students will be able to apply a set of evaluative criteria to an outside source in order to gauge its credibility/reliability.

Outcome Three: Students will be able to construct effective and efficient search strategies in library databases in order to retrieve articles relevant to a specific topic/assignment.

Outcome Four: Students will be able to construct effective and efficient search strategies in the library catalog in order to retrieve books relevant to a specific topic/assignment.

Outcome Five: Students will be able to apply a citation style to their writing in order to avoid plagiarism and strengthen their credibility as academic writers.

Outcome Six: Students will be able to distinguish between reference sources and other types of information in order to integrate reference sources into the research process.

Prior to each session, a librarian will contact you to chat about the topics you would like covered.  Below is a listing of each library instruction outcome with corresponding topics. 

Outcome One: Popular vs. Scholarly Articles

  • The differences between scholarly and popular articles with respect to authority, purpose, audience, language, appearance/structure, and documentation
  • The differences between an original research article and a literature review

Outcome Two: Evaluation of Information

  • Using a set of criteria, such as CRAAP, to gauge the credibility/reliability of an outside source

Outcome Three: Finding Articles in Library Databases

  • Keyword searching
  • Subject searching
  • Applying database limiters (e.g. full-text, peer-reviewed)
  • Understanding the search results display
  • Using search connectors (i.e. Boolean) to narrow or broaden a search
  • Searching within a specific publication (e.g. searching onlyarticles in the Journal of Social History)
  • Additional database tips and tricks (e.g. e-mailing an article from the database, saving articles in a folder)

Outcome Four: Finding Books in the Library Catalog

  • Many of the search techniques covered under outcome three
  • Viewing electronic books
  • The value of scholarly books in the research process

Outcome Five: Citations

  • Why we cite
  • Creating accurate in-text citations according to a citation style
  • Creating accurate end-of-text citations according to a citation style

Outcome Six: Finding Reference Sources

  • Using reference sources to obtain background information on a topic (e.g. topic overviews, statistics)
  • Using reference sources to generate keywords related to a topic

Requests for Information Literacy Instruction

Requests for information literacy instruction sessions should be submitted at least 7 days in advance to ensure availability and to allow adequate time for librarians and faculty to collaborate on session design and learning outcomes.

Requests may be submitted through the Library Faculty Services page or by contacting the Library in person, via email or phone.  Please allow 2 business days for a response.

Assignments and Information Literacy Instruction

Information literacy instruction sessions should be timed to coincide with an upcoming research assignment when at all possible.  Students are more likely to be attentive and retain information when they understand how the information relates to a graded assignment.

Students should be introduced to the research assignment prior to the information literacy instruction session and ideally should have a topic in mind when attending the session.

Details of the research assignment should be shared with librarians at the time of request to allow adequate time for librarians and faculty to collaborate on session design and learning outcomes. Librarians are available to consult with faculty members in designing research assignments.

Length of Information Literacy Instruction Sessions  

Information literacy instruction sessions are limited to 50-75 minutes depending on the length of the class period and activities planned.   If the faculty member feels more time is necessary they are encouraged to bring the class back for one or more follow up sessions.

Multiple Sessions

Faculty members are encouraged to schedule multiple information literacy instruction sessions to ensure adequate coverage and reinforcement of concepts.

Follow up sessions may include the demonstration of more advanced database searching techniques, a focus on citations and plagiarism, or an additional opportunity for students to conduct librarian-assisted research.

Faculty Attendance

The instructional faculty member, or a faculty substitute, is required to attend the entire session.

The presence of the instructional faculty member in the information literacy instruction session plays a vital role, impressing upon students the importance of the skills they will be learning.

Arrival Time

Faculty members and students are expected to arrive promptly. Classes arriving more than 15 minutes late may be cancelled. Faculty members must arrive with their classes.

Loading