Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Ask a Librarian
About the Library
Thomas Nelson Library
Tutor Zone: Math Center
Tutor Zone: Math Center
Information on the Math Assistance in the Tutor Zone as well as helpful links to online math resources.
Policies & Procedures
Frequently Asked Questions
Virginia Placement Test
Virginia Placement Test (Testing Center)
Here we have collected our favorite math sites and resources from around the web.
Math is Fun
Math explained in easy language. This is a fun and colorful site aimed at K-12 students and covers math from arithmetic through calculus.
S.O.S. MATHematics is your free resource for math review material from Algebra to Differential Equations.
Purplemath contains practical algebra lessons demonstrating useful techniques and pointing out common errors.
Paul's Online Math Notes
Paul provides a complete set of free online, downloadable notes and tutorials for the classes that he teaches.
Cliffs Notes Math Help
Understand basic math and algebra, as well as advanced math topics like calculus and statistics.
Physics Forums - The Fusion of Science and Community
A discussion board for physics, mathematics, engineering, and other sciences.
Stats without Tears
A free online textbook for elementary statistics.
Free online resource for high school and college students, teachers, parents and people, that want to refresh their knowledge in math. prepare for a test, just refresh memory etc.
Caution: There are comments and memes that do not reflect our ideals from the general community because the site is open to the public.
Praxis Core Mathematics Review Course
Khan Academy provides videos and interactive practice problems for math... and many other topics too! One of the best educational resources on the internet.
PatrickJMT: Just Math Tutorials
Making FREE and hopefully useful math videos for the world!
A collection of tutorial videos on arithmetic, geometry, and algebra. The website is simple and its easy to find a video on the topic you're interested in.
Math Videos arranged by topic including introductory math, algebra, trigonometry and calculus. You can see example problems worked out by different people.
Learn math from a teacher you can understand at MathVids.com.
History of Math
A series of lectures available on YouTube.
BBC Radio 4 - A Brief History of Mathematics
Ten 15-minute podcasts that reveal the personalities behind the calculations from Newton to the present day.
MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
A great resource for researching the history of math and famous mathematicians.
Mathematicians of the 17th and 18th Centuries
Adapted from A Short Account of the History of Mathematics by W. W. Rouse Ball
The Greatest Mathematicians
Short biographies of 150 of the greatest mathematicians.
The art of calculating with beads.
Math History Research Guide
A research guide created by Thomas Nelson librarians to assist students in Math History research.
Fun and Interesting
A popular channel on YouTube, Numberphile talks about the world of numbers and all there is to love about numbers.
Vi Hart's Youtube Channel
Vi Hart's math videos are quick-paced and engaging, illustrated with colorful doodles.
Data Genetics Blog
By analyzing data and using math, the creator of this blog solves problems and answers interesting questions.
A weekly digest of the mathematical internet.
Mathematical Moments from the AMS
A series of posters (and podcasts) that promote appreciation and understanding of the role mathematics plays in science, nature, technology, and human culture.
A collection of beautiful mathematics, attractive pictures, and fun results
Create your own fractal art. Check out
demonstrating the awesome art you can make with Doodal.
NRICH - Developing as Mathematicians
A collection of thought-provoking questions and puzzles to develop your mathematical reasoning.
Steven Strogatz on the Elements of Math
Steven Strogatz, an award-winning professor, takes readers from the basics to the baffling in a 15-part series on mathematics.
Prime Numbers Chart
Customize your own chart of as many prime numbers as you'd like.
12 x 12 Multiplication Table
Multiplication facts up to 12 x 12.
Geometry Wall Cards
A summary of everything taught in high school geometry.
Paul's Online Math Notes: Cheat Sheets
Comprehensive references for college algebra/pre-calculus, trigonometry, calculus, and Laplace transforms.
Math Anxiety and Study Skills
Paul's Online Notes: How To Study Math
Advice on notes, homework, exams and more.
Paul's Online Notes: Common Math Errors
Find out what mistakes to avoid.
Math Survival Guide: Heal the Past, Conquer Anxiety and Build Success
An entertaining and relatable guide to dealing with math anxiety.
Texas Instruments Guidebooks
If you have a TI calculator, find the official guidebook here.
Casio Calculator Manuals
If you have a Casio calculator, find the official manual here.
Quick-and-Dirty Guide to the TI-83...
Quick guide to the TI-83, TI-83+, TI-84, and TI-84+.
Finding Your Way Around the TI-83+/TI-84+ Graphing Calculator
Covers the very basics and also topics sorted by class (algebra, statistics, calculus, etc.).
Addresses some common error messages and problems encountered on the TI-83/84 calculator.
TI-89 "How-to" Index
Use your TI-89 calculator effectively and efficiently. Assumes basic knowledge of graphing calculators and is targeted towards calculus students.
Casio fx-9750GII Quick Start Guide
An illustrated guide to the Casio fx-9750GII
Online Calculators and Applets
A very simple online calculator
Google Scientific Calculator
Search Google for "calculator" to bring up a scientific calculator.
Prime Factorization Machine
Input a number and find out its prime factorization.
Desmos Graphing Calculator
A fancy graphing applet and calculator.
Wolfram Alpha is a "Computational Knowledge Engine". It can answer questions on any number of topics, and solve all kinds of math problems.
Math problem solver that you can enter your problems into exactly as they appear.
Solves algebra, trigonometry and calculus problems step by step.
Library Resources >>