Skip to main content
  • Hampton: (757) 825-2877 | Historic Triangle: (757) 258-6500
  • ebooks at your Public Library

    Many local public libraries subscribe to ebook collections through the online services Overdrive and Freading.  These services will give you access to many popular titles and will allow you to download ebooks to your computer and portable devices.

    In most cases, you'll need to obtain a library card at the public library in order to access the collections online.

    feedbooks

    feedbooks

    • Thousands of free, public domain books.
    • Easy to use interface.
    • Books in multiple formats: EPUB, Kindle, and PDF
    • Also includes books for fee and self-published books.

    Project Gutenberg

    project gutenberg icon

    • Project Gutenberg offers over 38,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online
    • There are three different ways to find books on Project Gutenberg:

    Book Search - Search by author, title, or subject as well as most popular and latest release
    Catalog - Advanced search, Top 100 Books, and searching by specific languages
    Bookshelves - Books are broken down by categories such as children, crime, history, law, music, etc.

    Google Books

    • google books iconSearch works just like web search. Try a search on Google Books or on Google.com. When we find a book with content that contains a match for your search terms, we'll link to it in your search results.
    • Browse books online If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.
    • Careful, they're not all free!  If you find a book you like that isn't available for free download, click on the "Buy this book" and "Borrow this book" links to see where you can buy or borrow the print book. You can now also buy the ebook from the Google eBookstore.

    eBooks at Adelaide

    ebooks at adelaide icon

    Free Australian ebook site at the University of Adelaide offering a collection of classic works of literature, philosophy, science, exploration and travel in Epub format.  Book lists are searchable by author, title, and subject.

    Amazon Classics

    amazon kindle icon

    • More than 15,000 free classics
    • Available on Kindle devices and apps

    Free Nook Books

    • nook iconThousands of free ebooks from Barnes and Noble
    • Available on NOOK devices and apps

    ManyBooks.net

    Many books .net icon

    • There are more than 29,000 eBooks available for Kindle, Nook, iPad and most other eReaders. 
    • Much of the same content as in Project Gutenberg, but possibly easier to browse and locate titles.  

    Internet Archive Text Archive

    internet archive text archive icon

    • Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
    • Browse for titles by the Sub-Collections or use the Search
    • Depending on the collection, books are offered in several different formats.

    Hundred Zeros

    HundredZeros

    Hundred Zeros is a frequently updated catalog of best-sellers that are free on Amazon.com. You can also download and read Kindle ebooks on your computer, mobile phone, tablet, or the browser.

    There's an app for that!

    There's an app for that!

    Some devices need an app to read a specific format, or you could use the reader applications below to read e-books on your computer. 
    Find the apps on the sites below.