Skip to main content

Education Resources

Use this guide to get ideas for your assignment, find books and articles related to education, and explore links to other educational resources.

Recommended Databases

Other Databases to Consider

Off-Campus Access

Thomas Nelson Library's online resources are accessible to currently enrolled students and faculty and staff of Thomas Nelson. 

To access these resources from off-campus, you'll be required to login with your VCCS username and password.

Learn more about accessing Thomas Nelson library databases from off-campus.

What is a Library Database?

What is a library database?

A library database is an online resource that the library subscribes to that contains articles and information from print sources such as magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books. 

Most of our databases are article databases. 

An article database enables you to search through thousands (sometimes millions) of different magazines, journals and newspapers to find articles on a particular topic. Some of the articles you will find are Full Text, which means you can read (or print out) the entire article right there online. Other times the database will only provide you with an abstract, or summary of the article. Other times, the database will only give you a citation, which tells you where you can find a print version of the article.

Databases are not "internet" sources

Although you access our databases from the internet, the articles you find in them are reprinted from real live print sources. Most of the things you find in our database cannot be found by searching Google or Wikipedia. These are subscription services that the library pays for. They are every bit a part of our library's collection as the books on our shelf, and unless you want to buy your own subscription, you must go through the library's website to access them.