Librarians are always available to help, but if you want in-depth research help, you can make an appointment with us. We will help you find or narrow a paper topic, locate appropriate sources, and cite your sources correctly. Research appointments typically last an hour.
The library has several series of books featuring pro and con arguments on controversial topics. Clicking on the highlighted titles below will take you to the cooresponding books in the online catalog.
(call numbers vary) Each title focuses on a different topic. Uses a pro-con format and provides in-depth discussions by leading advocates of each perspective. Includes footnotes and source references. Examples: Affirmative action, Cloning, Domestic violence, Gay marriage, Militia movement.
(call numbers vary) Each book deals with a single topic and contains a chronology, biographies, relevant statistics, a directory of organizations and a bibliography. Examples: Animal rights, Domestic violence, Gay and Lesbian Rights, Rape.
(call numbers vary) Excerpts from articles, newspapers and books are used to present authoritative opinions on issues of national and international interest in a pro/con format. A short bibliography and a list of organizations are included. Examples: Abortion, AIDS, Family violence, Gun Control, Hate Crimes, Pollution, Women in the Military.
(call numbers vary) Each title focuses on a different topic and explores the issues using expert opinions from contemporary and historical authors in a pro/con format. Contains bibliographies, list of relevant organizations, glossaries, and chronologies. Examples: Adoption, Censorship, Death penalty, Euthanasia, Gun Control. Also available online, see below.
(call numbers vary) Each book excerpts or reprints important articles on a contemporary social issue. Included are background information, discussions from various points of view, and a bibliography. Examples: Affirmative action, American education, Banking scandals, Censorship, English-Official Language, Suicide, United Nations.
(call numbers vary) Adjacent pro and con arguments excerpted from journal articles and books are written by experts and focus on diverse topics surrounding a broad issue area. Examples: Israel, Bioethical Issues, American History, Mass Media, Race and Ethnicity, Psychological Issues.