This is the "Home" page of the "Google Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Google Scholar   Tags: google scholar  

Get information about Google Scholar and find out how to use it more effectively.
Last Updated: May 22, 2012 URL: http://libguides.tncc.edu/GoogleScholar Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Give It a Shot

Google Scholar
 

What is Google Scholar?

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a search engine that specifically searches scholarly literature and academic resources.

How is Google Scholar related to (and different from) the library databases?

There is overlap between the content in Google Scholar and the library's individual databases. Also, many citations in Google Scholar will link to full text in the library's databases or in publicly available databases. But Google Scholar will not contain everything that is in the library's databases.

Google Scholar is useful as a jumping off point for your research, but to do in-depth research, you'll need to use a subject specific database provided by the library. If you are not sure which resource to use, use our databases by subject list or take a look at a research guide on your topic.

And, as always, TNCC Reference Librarians are ready to help you with your research needs!  Contact the Reference Department at tnccreference@gmail.com or call 757-825-2877 for assistance. 

Contact Corey!

Profile Image
Corey Buttram, Information Literacy Librarian
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
Thomas Nelson Community College
757-825-2878
757-825-2839
757-825-2877
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Craig Amos
Contact Info
(757)253-4332
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip